Five-year narrative (ABE consortium authorization)

The ABE 5-year narrative is designed to give existing ABE consortia and new or reorganized applicants for ABE funding an opportunity to review and describe program results, successes, organizational structure, adherence to state/federal requirements, and future plans. Once submitted, the narrative is reviewed and evaluated in order to make decisions about new or continuing multi-year program approval for funding. The 5-year narrative process is based on requirements outlined in Minnesota State Statute 124D.52, subd. 2.

2017-2018 Narrative Requirements

Detailed requirements for ABE consortia required to submit the 5-year narrative on June 1, 2018 can be found in this document: 2018 Narrative Requirements

The powerpoint from the November 9 Narrative Writers Workshop is available here: Narrative Writers Workshop presentation

The following templates are recommended, but not required, for use as part of the 5-year narrative submission:

Section Two:

Intake and Orientation Procedures Template 

Assessment Procedures Template

Contact Hour Tracking Procedures Template

Section Three:

Consortium Professional Development Plan Template

Individual Professional Development Plan Template

Section Four:

Instructional Program Description Template

Content Standards Implementation Plan Template


The following consortia are required to submit narratives in June 2018:

  • AEOA
  • Burnsville
  • Dakota Prairie-Farmington
  • Lakes & Prairie-Wadena
  • Lakeville
  • International Education Center
  • NW Service Cooperative
  • Osseo
  • South Suburban-South St. Paul

 For a complete list of ABE consortia and 5-year narrative submission dates, open the ABE 5-year narrative schedule.


Example Narratives from Minnesota ABE Consortia

(note that these follow the former guidelines for narrative content, and therefore narratives submitted in 2018 and after will not have identical structure or content to these)

Southeast ABE narrative (2016)

Department of Corrections narrative (2016)

Central MN  narrative (2016)

RAVE (Rosemount Apple Valley Eagan) narrative (2016)

South Washington County narrative (2016)

AIOIC narrative (2016)

Faribault County narrative (2016)

Deaf ABE - ThinkSelf narrative (2015)

Glacial Lakes-Willmar narrative (2015)

Hastings narrative (2015)

Metro North-Anoka narrative (2015)

Metro South-Bloomington narrative (2015)

Minneapolis Adult Education narrative (2015)